skip navigation

Biological Sciences Teaching Award Winners

SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor. The Distinguished Teaching Professorship is conferred upon instructional faculty for outstanding teaching competence at the graduate, undergraduate, or professional levels. It is awarded in recognition of teaching mastery demonstrated over multiple years

  •  Clyde Herreid (1988)

SUNY Chancellors Award for Excellence in Teaching. The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching is the highest award for teaching in the SUNY system. It recognizes consistently superior teaching at the graduate, undergraduate, or professional level in keeping with the State University’s commitment to providing its students with instruction of the highest quality.

  • Dr. James R. LaFountain (1977)
  • Dr. Clyde Herreid (1981)
  • Dr. Carmelo Privitera (1982) [retired]
  • Dr. Christopher Loretz (1991)
  • Dr. Richard Almon (1995)
  • Dr. Steven Free (1995)
  • Dr. Gerald Koudelka (1996)
  • Dr. Philip Miles (1998) [deceased]
  • Dr. Todd Hennessey (2000)
  • Dr. Charles Fourtner (2005) [retired]
  • Dr. Katharina Dittmar (2016)

The President Emeritus and Mrs. Meyerson Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching and Mentoring. This award recognizes the outstanding faculty mentorship that currently exists at UB and seeks to encourage further faculty commitment to and participation in the undergraduate research and creative experience.

  • Dr. Steven Free (2014)

Milton Plesur Excellence in Teaching Award. This student generated award is bestowed on faculty who inspire, excite, and have a positive and memorable effect on the students they teach. The Plesur Award recognizes the teachers who bring an added spark of enthusiasm into the classroom, fueling an atmosphere of creativity and participation.

  • Dr. Clyde Herreid
  • Dr. Paul Cullen (2008)
  • Dr. Jessica Poulin (2013)

UB Teaching Innovation Award.  The award recognizes outstanding faculty achievement in teaching innovation, and innovations must have a demonstrable effect on enhancing student-learning outcomes. 

  • Dr. Jessica Poulin (2017)